State Capitol, Des Moines, Iowa

Primary tabs

Looking east at the Iowa Capitol building with the Pioneers of the Territory monument (1892) designed and completed by Karl Gerhardt for a cost of $4,500 in the foreground. The building was completed in 1886 at a cost of $3,296,256, and, and at the time, was the only five-domed capitol in the country. It is located at 1007 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines, Polk County, Iowa and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. 1911 postmark. Number 3812.